Our museum features Jack Lean's historic cabin (built in the late 1920's and the home of the Cooper Landing Post Office for almost 40 years) and the original School House (built in 1955 and used until September 2001). Open noon to 5pm, Wed. to Mon., from 5/15 to 9/15.
This picturesque historic building captures a glimpse of a bygone era. Come inside to view a collection of miner's tools, household objects, and other memborabilia from gold rush days to the present.
The oldest functional building in Cooper Landing, the historic post office, is arguably on of the most picturesque rustic structures in the Corridor. The front of the buildling is decorated with trophy-size moose, Dall sheep, and caribou antlers; artifacts and driftwood; a beer and wine sign from an earlier period; and a bird house. A collection of miner's tools, discarded household obejcts, mineral specimens and other memorabilia dating from the nineteeth century adorn the front porch under the overhang.
Moved to Cooper Landing Museum site 600 feet downriver from it's original location, Cooper Landing post office provides a colorful glimplse of the past and is a favorite place for visitors to stop for photographs.